Michigan Young Republicans Announce Plans to ‘Re-Energize’ Organization


The Michigan Young Republicans organization announced its plans for expansion Tuesday and unveiled a number of new leadership changes.

Abby Oliver, a Grand Rapids resident, has been named chairwoman of the Michigan Young Republicans and will replace outgoing Chairman Kyle Brethauer, according to a press release.

Matthew Yascolt will take over as co-chairman, while Brethauer will move into his new role as executive director.

“Our entire team is extremely enthused to step into their new roles with Michigan Young Republicans,” said Oliver. “With all the enthusiasm, fresh perspectives, and strategies, we are ready to re-energize this organization, and are fully committed to increasing youth engagement across Michigan.”

Brethauer said he was “very pleased with the selection of the new leadership team put in place” and called it an “honor to serve as the past chairperson.”

The organization plans to launch new chapters in Detroit, Grand Rapids, Macomb, Livingston, and Lansing by the fall of 2019. These new chapters will “aim to provide exceptional networking and involvement opportunities to local residents,” said a press release.

The changes are designed to ensure “Republicans statewide have the resources to win over younger voters in 2020 and beyond.”

Paul Stephens, current youth vice chairman of the Michigan Republican Party, said he was “thrilled to have such an incredible leadership team assembled to re-energize the Michigan Young Republicans.”

“The significant structure this organization has built through months of hard work will surely play a significant role in the 2020 election,” he continued. “The Michigan Republican Party is committed to engaging youth voters in all corners of the state, and we are looking forward to working with the Michigan Young Republicans in pursuit of this goal.”

Additional leadership changes include:

  • Secretary: Matthew Hauser
  • Treasurer: Savannah Fratrick
  • National Committeeman: Steve Yoder
  • National Committeewoman: Ally Scully
  • Parliamentarian: John Lohrstorfer

– – –

Anthony Gockowski is managing editor of Battleground State News, The Ohio Star, and The Minnesota Sun. Follow Anthony on Twitter. Email tips to [email protected].
Photos by Michigan Young Republicans.



Related posts