Eleven Republicans Vote With Democrats to Strip Marjorie Taylor Greene of Her Committee Posts

by Debra Heine


By a vote of 230 to 199, the U.S. House of Representatives voted Thursday to remove Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Georgia) from her committee posts. Eleven Republican voted with the Democrats to remove Greene from the committees.

Democrats in the House forced the vote after several of Green’s controversial social media posts surfaced, triggering a backlash among liberals.

These are the eleven GOP lawmakers who crossed party lines to punish the freshman Rep. for sharing conspiracy theories  on social media.

  • Adam Kinzinger
  • Nicole Malliotakis
  • John Katko
  • Fred Upton
  • Brian Fitzpatrick
  • Carlos Gimenez
  • Chris Jacobs
  • Young Kim
  • Maria Salazar
  • Chris Smith
  • Mario Díaz-Balart

The action was taken after House Democrats pressured Republicans to remove the Georgia Republican of committee assignments on their own. House Republicans refused to take that action, and House GOP leader Kevin McCarthy on Wednesday called the push a “partisan power grab.”

Greene’s defense of herself on the House floor last night, reportedly prompted a standing ovation from some Republican members.

– – –

Debra Heine reports for American Greatness.














Content created by the Center for American Greatness, Inc. is available without charge to any eligible news publisher that can provide a significant audience. For licensing opportunities for our original content, please contact [email protected].

Related posts