Thirteen Michigan Schools Honored with National Blue Ribbon Schools Award



Thirteen schools in Michigan have been recognized as a National Blue Ribbon School, the U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos announced Thursday.

National Blue Ribbon Schools are awarded based on either the high academics at the school or for improvement in closing the education gap between subgroups. All 13 schools in Michigan were awarded based on their high academics.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools award was given to 362 schools. Up to 420 are nominated each year.

“We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees. “As a National Blue Ribbon School, your school demonstrates what is possible when committed educators hold all students and staff to high standards and create vibrant, innovative cultures of teaching and learning.”

The Michigan schools recognized by the award are, in alphabetical order:

  • Amerman Elementary School from Northville
  • Boulan Park Middle School from Troy
  • Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School from Dearbon
  • City Middle/High School from Grand Rapids
  • Community High School from Ann Arbor
  • Eagle Crest Charter Academy from Holland
  • John F. Farrell-Emmett Elementary School from Emmett
  • Lakewood Elementary School from Holland
  • Martell Elementary School from Troy
  • New Buffalo Senior High School from New Buffalo
  • Peach Plains Elementary School from Grand Haven
  • Saginaw Arts and Sciences Academy from Saginaw
  • Wass Elementary School from Troy.

In 37 years, the National Blue Ribbon Schools award has been given to more than 9,000 schools.

One school attributed its success to the Leader in Me program, based on the “Seven Habits of Highly Effective People,” which it adopted four years ago.

“Since that time, our hallways have transformed with student-created artifacts and murals dedicated to the habits,” the Charles A. Lindbergh Elementary School said in its application. “Our classrooms have become habit centered, allowing our students to become not only strong readers, but also strong leaders.  An already strong ‘flyer’ community has grown together to reach new heights.”

Representatives from the schools will be invited to visit D.C. on November 14 and 15 as part of an awards ceremony and celebration.

See the entire list of winners here.

– – –

Jordyn Pair is a reporter with Battleground State News and The Michigan Star. Follow her on Twitter at @JordynPair. Email her at [email protected]



Related posts